First night in Thailand


I arrived at Bangkok Suvarnabhumi International Airport at 5.30pm. After picking a map of Bangkok and some brochures from the tourism centre, I walked outside to catch a taxi. The taxi queue was quite long. It was almost 7pm by the time I got in mine. My accommodation for the first 4-nights was called Focal Local Bed & Breakfast. It took the taxi driver about an hour to reach the B&B. He got lost once and had to get off once to ask some locals about the location. The taxi driver is a middle-age man and I think he is kind.

The hotel is a bit hard to find for first-timers since it’s located in a small Soi. However, it is in fact quite convenient considering there’s a 7-eleven around the corner and various food stands/hawkers within two/three minutes walking distance from the hotel. According to the hotel staff, there’s also a traditional market during the day. I don’t have enough time to visit the market, so I can’t confirm it. The hotel provides a free tuk-tuk for their customers once a day at any time of the day to the nearest BTS station (Krung Thon Buri). This means you can use the service anytime you want, but it’s only free for your first ride. It would roughly be a 30-minute walk to the BTS station, but I wouldn’t recommend walking considering the humid weather.

Anyway, I was greeted by a friendly staff as soon as I arrived. He gave me a glass of cold and refreshing drink. I think it was some kind of herbal tea mixed with honey. I loved it. I had felt so hot and tired at the time and the drink completely refreshed me. While I was drinking, the staff hauled my luggage upstairs. This was a small B&B, but it was clean and had a nice & unique atmosphere. There’re only 2 levels, so there’s no elevator, only stairs. Wi-fi connection in my room on the second floor was choppy, but once I was on the first floor area, they worked fine. For guests that don’t bring their own computers/ipads/pdas, they provide free desktop computer to use on the lobby. There’s a massage parlor right beside the hotel that I think is owned by the same owner.

After I finished my drink, I was shown to my room on the second floor. Every room on this B&B had its own theme. Mine was called Simply Gorgeous. I liked it. Like its name, it was simple, clean and nice. They put a bowl of potpourri on the corner of the bedroom. It made the room smells refreshingly nice without overpowering like what room fragrance sprays/diffusers do.

After unpacking and resting a little, I decided to search for some local food although it was already 11pm. I found some food hawkers nearby. They didn’t speak english, so I had to point at other customer’s food to order. It was a bowl of tom yum soup. Next, the cook asked me what I’d like to put on the soup by pointing at different kinds of meats which was hanged on the covered stall. I picked the least red-looking meat, also by pointing at it. In short, there were a lot of pointings done before I finished ordering. I was quite surprised when I saw my soup. It looked tasty, but it was in a big bowl and filled to the brim. I immediately wondered how the heck I was gonna finished it, then proceeded to dig in. It was delicious and very spicy. As an Indonesian, I’m used to spicy food, but I still considered this tom yum really spicy. It’s so spicy that it made me sweat. They put at least five kind of herbs on this soup. I was not sure what their names were, but I think lime leaves and lemongrass were among them. They also put a LOT of meat and liver; practically filled the soup with them. Oh, it only costs 40 baht.

Tom Yum

The Midnight Tom Yum

Categories: Food & Beverages, Travel | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

